Groundbreaking Ceremony Marks Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico’s Expansion in Orange County


Orange County Mayor Teresa Jacobs recently provided the keynote speech at the Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico’s groundbreaking ceremony for its expansion in Orange County.

The new building will feature a three-story structure consisting of classroom space and engineering laboratories that will meet the standards implemented by the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology Programs (ABET).

“As one of the most culturally inclusive communities in the United States, Orange County continues to be a leader in advancing and celebrating diversity,” Mayor Jacobs said during her remarks at the groundbreaking. “Not only will accreditation lend prestige to the university’s reputation, it will facilitate the application process for graduates who need to take professional licensing exams.”

The Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico, Orlando campus opened its doors in 2003 as the university’s second location outside of Puerto Rico. The Orlando campus offers graduate and undergraduate degrees in engineering and business administration. Additionally, the university offers evening and online courses to accommodate students with careers and families.

With 59 million visitors from around the world and a diverse population reaching more than 1.2 million citizens, Orange County is home to a number of extraordinary colleges and universities that provide unparalleled undergraduate, graduate and doctoral program options.

  • The University of Central Florida, which is the second largest university in the nation with more than 60,000 students, has more than 1,250 students of international origin.
  • Rollins College, noted for excellence in graduate management education, has an enrollment of students from more than 45 states and more than 45 countries.
  • Full Sail University offers degrees in the entertainment and media industry.
  • Florida A&M College of Law and Barry University School of Law both offer day and evening Juris Doctor programs at their Orange County locations.
  • Ana G. Mendez University System, Metro Orlando utilizes a dual language model for education and is one of the first bilingual universities in the community.

The Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico is a nonprofit educational institution founded in 1966 and is internationally recognized and accredited in the fields of engineering, architecture, computer sciences, business management and administration. The University has three campus locations including San Juan, PR, Miami, and Orlando.

Photos from the groundbreaking ceremony are available for use by the media and are located on Flickr.

Back To Top