Steve Triggs, Communications Division Manager
(407) 836-7370 or email:

Orange County Celebrates Sister Region Agreement with China

Orange County, FL – On Wednesday, January 16 at 11:30 a.m., Orange County Mayor Teresa Jacobs will celebrate the official signing of a Sister Region Agreement with the City of Taizhou, China. Orange County will welcome a delegation of six dignitaries from Taizhou and a special reception will be hosted by the Orange County Asian Committee. After the brief signing ceremony, Mayor Jacobs, Vice Mayor Yuejin Zhao and his delegation will be available to media.

“Orange County is proud to have developed a strong working relationship with another vital trade partner,” said Mayor Jacobs. “This agreement promotes our joint commitment to collaborate on educational, economic and cultural opportunities.”

Taizhou is an emerging city along the east coast of China about 190 miles south of Shanghai. Dubbed China’s “Medical City” Taizhou has become a national hub for hosting major international corporations in pharmaceutical, biomedical and bio-tech enterprises. The city is also rich in culture with a history dating back 2,100 years.

Orange County also has collaboration agreements with Las Heras region in Argentina, Quindío and the city of Medellin in Colombia, and the region of Hart van Brabant in the Netherlands. The agreement with Taizhou City is the fourth such relationship established by Orange County Mayor Teresa Jacobs.

The event will take place in the Executive Conference Room, 5th Floor Mayor’s Suite, Orange County Government Administration Center, 201 S. Rosalind Avenue in downtown Orlando.

About Orange County Government: Orange County Government strives to serve its residents and guests with integrity, honesty, fairness and professionalism. Located in Central Florida, Orange County includes 13 municipalities and is home to world-famous theme parks, one of the nation’s largest convention centers and a thriving life science research park. Seven elected members make up the Board of County Commissioners, including the Mayor, who is elected countywide. For more information, please visit or go to Orange County Government’s social media channels.

Back To Top