Orange County Community Action Division
Lavon Williams, Manager

Osceola Council on Aging to Provide Weatherization Services for Low Income Households in Orange County

Orange County, Fla.  – Orange County’s goal is to provide the best possible services to its residents. However, Orange County Government has terminated its administration of the Weatherization Assistance Program (WAP).  Effective December 1, 2019, the WAP in Orange County has been transferred to the Osceola Council on Aging (OCOA). Qualified Orange County applicants will not be affected.

The WAP completes minor home repairs for low-income households with the mission of reducing the household’s monthly energy burden by increasing the home’s energy efficiency. Types of home repairs include: addressing air infiltration with weather stripping, caulking, replacing windows and doors; insulating attics and floors; repairing or replacing heating and cooling units and water heaters.

The Florida Department of Economic Opportunity (DEO) provides funding to local agencies statewide to administer the WAP. DEO works with the local agencies that are awarded the grant to ensure WAP is efficiently operated and serves citizens of the state.

Orange County residents that income-qualify for the WAP will continue to submit applications through the Orange County community centers. All current applications, including the applicants on the waiting list for services, have been transferred to OCOA. OCOA will contact applicants regarding their application and timeline for weatherization assistance. Applicants do not need to submit another application and may contact OCOA at:

Osceola Council on Aging
Barney E. Veal Center
700 Generation Pt.
Kissimmee, FL 34744

Applicants may contact the Orange County Community Action Division at 407-836-0918 if they have any questions about this transfer.

Applicants may also contact DEO at 850-717-8451 with any questions.

About Orange County Government: Orange County Government strives to serve its residents and guests with integrity, honesty, fairness and professionalism. Located in Central Florida, Orange County includes 13 municipalities and is home to world-famous theme parks, one of the nation’s largest convention centers and a thriving life science research park. Seven elected members make up the Board of County Commissioners, including the Mayor, who is elected countywide. For more information, please visit or go to Orange County Government’s social media channels.

Back To Top