Media Contact:
Sarah Lux

Wekiwa Springs Septic-to-Sewer Groundbreaking Ceremony | June 18, 2021 at 11:30 a.m.

Orange County Utilities DepartmentWHAT:  Orange County Mayor Jerry L. Demings will host a groundbreaking ceremony to launch the start of a major septic-to-sewer conversion project in Wekiwa Springs this Friday.

The sustainability project is expected to connect more than 2,000 homes to the county’s central sewer service. Partnerships for this important environmental plan include the Orange County Board of County Commissioners, Orange County Utilities Department, the St. Johns River Water Management District, and the Florida Department of Environmental Protection (FDEP).

This project is an important first step to preserving Florida’s natural water resources, like the Wekiwa Springs, that are sensitive to human activity. High concentrations of nitrates – attributed, in part, to fertilizers and septic tanks from neighborhoods in the immediate area – are negatively impacting the water quality and ecosystem of the springs.

The groundbreaking ceremony celebrates the first phase of a 15-year plan to help protect the Wekiva River and Wekiwa Springs from an overabundance of nitrates.

WHEN: Friday, June 18, 2021 at 11:30 a.m.

WHERE: The Sweetwater West Community, Apopka, FL


  • Mayor Jerry L. Demings, Orange County Government
  • Commissioner Christine Moore, Orange County Government, District 2
  • Director Ed Torres, Orange County Utilities Department
  • Assistant Executive Director Lisa Kelley, St. Johns River Water Management District


  • Commissioner Christine Moore, Orange County Government, District 2
  • Director Ed Torres, Orange County Utilities Department
  • Robert Richcreek, President of the Sweetwater West Homeowners Association

Please note: parking is limited. Media must RSVP to attend. Please contact Sarah Lux to confirm your attendance or request additional information about the event.

About Orange County Government: Orange County Government strives to serve its residents and guests with integrity, honesty, fairness and professionalism. Located in Central Florida, Orange County includes 13 municipalities and is home to world-famous theme parks, one of the nation’s largest convention centers and a thriving life science research park. Seven elected members make up the Board of County Commissioners, including the Mayor, who is elected countywide. For more information, please visit or go to Orange County Government’s social media channels.

Back To Top