Orange County Government Public Information Officer

Orange County Mayor Jerry L. Demings and County Commissioners Receive Accolades at Florida Association of Counties Annual Conference

Mayor and Commissioners recognized for outstanding service and advanced leadership.

ORANGE COUNTY, FL – The Florida Association of Counties (FAC) presented Orange County Mayor Jerry L. Demings, Orange County Commissioner Emily Bonilla and Orange County Commissioner Victoria Siplin with the Presidential Advocacy Award for their work during the 2021 Legislative Session at its recent Annual Conference in Orange County, Florida.

The FAC Presidential Advocacy Award recognizes county commissioners who have shown exceptional leadership in advocating with FAC during the 2021 session to advance counties’ legislative agenda and preserve home rule.

“Every day, our Commissioners work hard to tackle complex challenges and respond to the unique needs of their local area,” said Melissa McKinlay, FAC President and Palm Beach County Commissioner. “Their consistent drive and dedication for their constituents is the reason we’re able to sustain our communities, and they play a leading role in improving quality of life for all Floridians.”

Also at the conference, the Institute for County Government (ICG) presented Orange County Commissioner Christine Moore with the Advanced County Commissioner Level I (ACC I) designation following the completion of a comprehensive study program developed by the Foundation.

Launched in 2006, the ACC I education program is an advanced leadership program designed for graduates of the Certified County Commissioners (CCC) program. Since its inception, a total of 267 commissioners have received the ACC I designation.

The ICG also presented Orange County Commissioners Maribel Gomez Cordero and Mayra Uribe with the Certified County Commissioner (CCC) designation following completion of the comprehensive study program developed by the Institute. The commissioners received the designation with 47 other county commissioners during the conference’s awards ceremony.

The CCC designation is not required in order to serve as a county commissioner in Florida, but commissioners may voluntarily enroll in the program to learn additional information and foster skills relevant to their duties and responsibilities as elected officials. Since the program’s inception, a total of 537 Florida commissioners have received the CCC designation.

For more than 85 years, the FAC has represented the diverse interests of Florida’s counties, emphasizing the importance of protecting home rule – the concept that government closest to the people governs best. The FAC helps counties effectively serve and represent Floridians by strengthening and preserving county home rule through advocacy, education and collaboration.

About Orange County Government: Orange County Government strives to serve its residents and guests with integrity, honesty, fairness and professionalism. Located in Central Florida, Orange County includes 13 municipalities and is home to world-famous theme parks, one of the nation’s largest convention centers and a thriving life science research park. Seven elected members make up the Board of County Commissioners, including the Mayor, who is elected countywide. For more information, please visit or go to Orange County Government’s social media channels.

Back To Top