Orange County Government Public Information Officer

Redistricting Advisory Committee to Meet for First Time

Orange County to Host Community Members Charged with Reviewing 2020 Census Data Monday, September 20

Orange County GovernmentWHAT: On Monday, September 20, Mayor Jerry L. Demings will join a select group of 15 community members serving on the Advisory Committee for Redistricting (ACR) to hold its first meeting.

This group is tasked with reviewing the 2020 Census data and ultimately recommending potential commission district boundary adjustments to the Board of County Commissioners. This is the first of eleven ACR meetings between now and mid-December. Monday’s meeting will focus on introducing Sunshine Law, ethics standards, an overview of the redistricting process including legal principles, and other procedural issues related to the process.

WHEN: Monday, September 20, 2021 – 6:30 pm


  • Orange County Administration Building
    Board of County Commission Chamber – 1st Floor
    201 S. Rosalind Avenue
    Orlando, FL 32801

WHY: Federal law, the Florida Constitution, and the Orange County Charter mandate that the County reconsiders its political boundaries every ten years based upon updated population data. As the latest census was completed by the U.S. Census Bureau in 2020, Orange County must complete its decennial redistricting process by March 2022.

MORE INFO:   The goal of redistricting is to readjust the population between commission districts so that no Orange County Commissioner is representing substantially more individual residents than the other commissioners. Redistricting is accomplished by adjusting the boundaries of the County’s six commission districts to account for population growth. Please visit, for more details.

Members of the Advisory Committee for Redistricting:

Hector “Tico” Perez (Co-Chair)
Camille Evans (Co-Chair)
Mark Arias
Jimmy Auffant
Thomas Callan
Homer L. Hartage
Wes Hodge
Zach Hoover
Garry Jones
Joe Kilsheimer
Ruthanne Connor King
Jason Mellon
Julio Rocha
Kelly Semrad
Virginia Whittington


Public Advisory County Commission Redistricting Meeting 1 - September 20 at 6 30 PM - Orange County Administration Building - 201 S Rosalind Avenue Orlando FL 32801

About Orange County Government: Orange County Government strives to serve its residents and guests with integrity, honesty, fairness and professionalism. Located in Central Florida, Orange County includes 13 municipalities and is home to world-famous theme parks, one of the nation’s largest convention centers and a thriving life science research park. Seven elected members make up the Board of County Commissioners, including the Mayor, who is elected countywide. For more information, please visit or go to Orange County Government’s social media channels.

Back To Top