Orange County Mayor Jerry L. Demings and District 4 Commissioner Maribel Gomez Cordero to Open Crosby Island Marsh Preserve

WHAT: Orange County Environmental Protection Division will host a ribbon-cutting ceremony to open the Crosby Island Marsh Preserve to the public.

Bordering one-side of beautiful Lake Mary Jane, the Crosby Island Marsh Preserve was purchased through Orange County’s Green PLACE Program. The parcel is 243 acres that includes pine flatwoods, freshwater marshes and oak hammocks. Acquisition of this parcel made it possible to contribute land to a 3,000+-acre wildlife corridor, which connects other conservation and park lands in East Orange County.

One of the features of this Green PLACE property is that a portion of the Florida National Scenic Trail passes through the preserve. The Florida National Scenic Trail is a congressionally designated, long-distance hiking trail that is 1,300 miles long and stretches from the Panhandle to the Everglades.

The property is managed in such a manner as to protect and enhance ecosystem integrity, function and biodiversity and to provide a quality passive recreational outdoor experience for existing and future generations.

WHEN: Wednesday, July 17, 2019 at 9 a.m.

WHERE: 13601 Moss Park Road
Orlando, FL 32832

WHO: Orange County Mayor Jerry L. Demings
Maribel Gomez Cordero, Orange County District 4 Commissioner
David Jones, Manager, Orange County Environmental Protection Division
Beth Jackson, Environmental Program Supervisor, Orange County Environmental Protection Division
David Waldrop, President of the Florida Trail Association

FOR MORE INFO: Denise Cochran, Public Information Officer, Orange County Environmental Protection Division
321-239-4488 (mobile) or email:

About Orange County Government: Orange County Government strives to serve its residents and guests with integrity, honesty, fairness and professionalism. Located in Central Florida, Orange County includes 13 municipalities and is home to world-famous theme parks, one of the nation’s largest convention centers and a thriving life science research park. Seven elected members make up the Board of County Commissioners, including the Mayor, who is elected countywide. For more information, please visit or go to Orange County Government’s social media channels.

Back To Top